DVdoctor.community
  • HEXUS
  • HEXUS.tv
  • gaming
  • lifestyle
  • trust
  • community
  • Beyond3D
  • DVdoctor
  • ESReality

  • Go Back   DVdoctor.community > DVdoctor.lifestyle > Chatter
    Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
    Old 3rd July 2009, 09:10   #1
    Dave R Smith
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire, England
    Posts: 4,316
    Default Domain name scam

    Had an email in my 'spam' folder today, so default software thinks its dodgy for a start.
    The text is below.
    The last time this happened, several years ago, it was a UK telephone number, which I called, used strong language regarding my thoughts and never heard from them again.

    I believe a genuine domain registrar may send a similar letter, but I am 99% confident this is a scam. I won't be replying, but I'm curious if anyone else has received a similar email.

    Just found this, which confirms:
    http://blog.sinohosting.net/beware-o...n-names-fraud/

    ================================================== =====
    Dear aztecvideo Team,

    Good day to you

    We received a formal application from Netlon Company are applying to register " aztecvideo " as their website and internet brand name in European, American and Asian area on July 2th 2009. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Netlon Company has no trade mark nor patent even similar to that word. Hence we need you confirmation for two things,

    First of all, whether this alleged Netlon Company is your business partner or distributor in business world.

    Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains and internet keyword.

    (.eu/.asia/.cn/.com.cn/.com etc)

    This is a letter for confirmation. If we haven't receive your reply. We will automatically confirm application from Netlon Company after this audit procedure.

    Yours Faithfully,
    Robin
    Registration Commissioner
    China Anti-Cybersquatting Organization
    'Tel: +00852 8135 9416
    Web: www.mwworg.cn

    'Tel: +00852 8135 9416

    Web: www.mwworg.cn
    __________________
    Dave
    www.aztecvideo.co.uk
    Dave R Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 3rd July 2009, 09:16   #2
    mooblie
    Mod (a Who fan, anyway)
     
    Join Date: Apr 2001
    Location: Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts: 5,687
    Default

    Yup, HeadSpin had the same scam. No doubt if you follow up as they hope, they'll shortly ask for money to "secure your domain name".
    __________________
    Martin - DVdoctor in moderation
    mooblie is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 3rd July 2009, 09:51   #3
    robo
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2000
    Location: Kendal. Cumbria. UK
    Posts: 971
    Default

    I just take it as read that anything starting with the words 'good day to you' is a scam.

    robo
    robo is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 3rd July 2009, 09:52   #4
    Gavin Gration
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 1999
    Location: Manchester, UK
    Posts: 4,184
    Default

    Signed by "Robin". Would his second name be Ba$?@&d?
    Gavin Gration is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 3rd July 2009, 10:54   #5
    Pete Allen
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2006
    Location: Essex, UK
    Posts: 532
    Default

    Yea, had the same one several times.
    __________________
    I drink to steady my nerves. Last night I got so steady I couldn't move.
    Pete Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 3rd July 2009, 10:59   #6
    Dave R Smith
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire, England
    Posts: 4,316
    Default

    Thanks Mooblie.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Gavin Gration View Post
    Signed by "Robin". Would his second name be Ba$?@&d?
    Excelent. Has brother: Thee-vin and Sister Lie-in.

    Robo.
    I have like thoughts that callers with that opening are 'cold selling' not buying.
    Yesterday I had 'INT'L' call, to which I answer David Smith, wait for several seconds, is that 'Mr Smith'.
    He called me so I would expect him to listen to waht I said - though I know it's their 'automatic lets annoy customers' phone system that makes me wait, while the call is allocated their end.
    Said he was calling on behalf of BT, so I asked, what company he was.
    He said BT.
    I said, 'if you are calling on behalf of BT, then you are not BT' at which point he said he was in Bangalore.

    I explained I would never buy from a cold caller and that I use 100 products and services a day, for which there are over 100 suppliers for each. If we all cold called, that would 10,000 calls being received.

    ..Yes..Cold callers do bug me (pun not intended).
    __________________
    Dave
    www.aztecvideo.co.uk
    Dave R Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 4th July 2009, 06:57   #7
    RayL
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 1999
    Location: Carshalton, Surrey, UK
    Posts: 3,700
    Default

    During business hours I answer "Good morning/afternoon, Intec Services". If the cold caller then asks for me, I reply "Who's calling, please?" which tends to wrong-foot them because they like to know they've got the right person before they enter into their speil. When Abdul or Raj or whoever give their name I slip in quick with "Who do you work for?". As their reply leaves their lips I say "Ah, we're fine for that, thank you" and put the phone down.

    The company that is cold-calling will have bought a list. My aim is to destroy the credibility of that list.

    Ray L
    RayL is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 4th July 2009, 07:53   #8
    mooblie
    Mod (a Who fan, anyway)
     
    Join Date: Apr 2001
    Location: Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts: 5,687
    Default

    Since we registered with the Telephone Preference Service a few years ago, the frequency of such calls has dropped significantly.

    Registration with TPS also gives you something of a deterrent/threat you can use, and a way to fight back against the callers:

    When we do get such a call and say we're registered with TPS, so they're committing an offence by calling (and would they give me their registered company name and office address?); it tends to get an immediate hang-up on their part.

    Again, like Ray, it (hopefully) undermines the list's credibility.
    __________________
    Martin - DVdoctor in moderation
    mooblie is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 4th July 2009, 08:47   #9
    Dave R Smith
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: Pulloxhill, Bedfordshire, England
    Posts: 4,316
    Default

    Martin.
    Thank-you for the link to TPS. Now registered (using residential option).
    I hadn't registered before in case it may exclude a benefit from the business point of view.
    I can't think of any exceptions where I may miss out though.
    Ray.
    I agree with your efforts to deter this marketing technique.
    __________________
    Dave
    www.aztecvideo.co.uk
    Dave R Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 4th July 2009, 09:46   #10
    branny
    Senior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2001
    Location: LANCASHIRE/ YORKSHIRE U.K
    Posts: 3,341
    Default

    This ploy was used in the early days of internet marketing and probably snared many an unwary website owner.
    Like mooblie we registered a few years ago with tps, both for fax and tel marketing. It has worked, except for overseas callers who appear to be excempt.
    __________________
    Be careful reading health books . . . You may die of a misprint.
    branny is offline   Reply With Quote
    Reply


    Thread Tools Search this Thread
    Search this Thread:

    Advanced Search
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    vB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39.


    Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
    Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Copyright DVdoctor Inc, All rights Reserved 2005