Liquid Edition - storing project

3 replies [Last post]
robo
Offline
Joined: Aug 15 2000

I'm having a good look at LE with a mind to changing over from Prem. One of the major plus points being able to author to DVD from the timeline at the same time as you're editing - but what do you do about storing your work in progress?
At the moment I back up my work to tape and get on with the next project until I get the OK from the client at which time I put it back onto the system and author to DVD using Ulead Workshop ( I have another computer to do this so as not to tie up my editing system more than needs be)
I already use a caddy system so as I can swap from one computer to the other, so would it be a case of having more caddies and drives and leaving the projects intact or am I missing something here?

robo

Barry Hunter
Offline
Joined: Nov 30 2001

My LE system utillises caddies & a Raid system.

Having completed a particular project I then change caddies for the next project. When you boot up & go into LE with the new caddies LE will look for the previous project but won`t find it. It will then put "!" over every clip it cannot find. THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM!!! If you need to re-edit that project, change the drives back to the ones that were used & LE will see them.

Barry Hunter videos4all.org

robo
Offline
Joined: Aug 15 2000

many thanks Barry - with the cost of hard drives as they are nowadays, it won't be too much of an outlay to get a few more. Next stage is to go and have a hands-on session or see if I can get a trial version.

robo

john harris
Offline
Joined: Sep 14 1999

In addition to what Barry has said, if you save the project to the removable drive instead of the local drive ie: not here
C:\Program Files\Pinnacle\Edition 5\Projects

then on inserting a new drive Edition will not see the previous project and will prompt you for which project to open. This avoids the 'offline files' situation which can be confusing at first.

I tend to have a backup folder on another drive to save copies of all files that cannot be re-digitised, ie: Project file,Titles, audio and graphics etc.
That way, if you lose the data on the removable drive all you have to do is replaced the media from DV.